Photographer: Annie (YAY, photo from my point and shoot!). Hy did the coloring (post processing)

wicked_2009_1_19

This week, my company (the full time job one) finally hired a new CEO (yeah .. not hard to guess which company I am at now) 🙂 Like our new President of this country, the new CEO brought in new hopes and energy to our company. In the all-hand meeting, during the Q&A session, the new CEO mentioned ‘Moral Compass’. Even though her context is different from what I am going through, the whole week last week, those 2 words grow like air bubble around me. I thought about it all the time, especially before I open my mouth.

Some bible verses about the tongue came in mind: (James 3:5-12)

Likewise the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of his life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell. All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt[a] water flow from the same spring? My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.

My job function asked me to speak a lot, whether it’s leading a group discussion, or having casual/formal conversations w/ folks regarding specific work assignments, changes around us, or organizational issues. Using words to influence and encourage are the positive and fun part of the job. But listening to gossip and holding the tongue against participation is a constant challenge. And of course, the consequence can be quite damaging. Especially in an organization where changes is like daily routine, gossiping virus can grow as fast as weeds in spring rain. Controlling the tongue will certainly be one of my work item in 2009.

During the Christmas last year, Hy and I watched “Wicked” the Broadway Musical at NYC. During the show, I can’t help but related what’s happening in The Emerald City to actual episode of my daily work. I can even map the charateristic of Oz citizens to the work family. It’s sad and scary.

BTW, I would highly recommend Wicked if you get a chance to watch it. Besides the interesting story lines and wonderful performance, I bet you will get more out of the show. Hy and I booked late so the damage was $130+ each. But I would say it’s totally worth every penny. Seems like they are having the show in SF starting end of this month at the Orpheum theater in SF. See the link here: http://www.ticketmaster.com/artist/1243801?camefrom=CFC_WICKED_hometicketssf

Today’s MLK day. I have a day off while Hy’s at work. I am supposed to catch up work today (piles of them), but it’s already early afternoon and I can’t get myself to start. I need to go and start off my 3 hours of Boeuf Bourguignon now. It’s my first time cooking this dish, but since the Paris trip, we are both missing French cuisine. I am trying out a recipe from Food Network. If it tastes good, I will tell you girls which one 🙂

Wish me luck! Maybe I will post the photo of the dish later this week!

