This weekend has been a weekend of renewal for me. Last week was brutal. I will have a lot to deal w/ the upcoming week from last week’s set back. Hy was still recovering from his illness. I was really spending this weekend resting, having enough hours of sleep and indulging in my little world of reading (blogs, books & music lyrics). I’ve mentioned that I was crazy about an Asian singer, Jay Chou. He’s new album, Capricorn, is really awesome!

I am reading 2 books concurrently right now. One is a new shipment from Amazon: “The Bonesetter’s Daughter” by Amy Tan. I just finished reading Amy Tan’s Saving Fish from Drowning couple weeks ago on the flight back from Atlanta. Saving Fish From Drowning opens my eyes to people’s complicated life under the unstable regime. The novel has the following story line: “On an ill-fated art expedition into Burma, 11 Americans leave their Floating Island Resort for a Christmas-morning tour – and disappear. Through twists of fate they encounter a tribe awaiting the return of a leader and the mythical book of wisdom that will protect them from the ravages of the Myanmar military regime.” I didn’t expect such political topic from Amy Tan. For those of you girls who read the book and love it, here’s a video of Amy Tan talks about her book Saving Fish From Drowning. I love after reading the book, then hear about the author’s own interpretation of the book. I did learn different perspectives after watching her video. Back to the book “The Bone Setter’s daughter”, I decided to read this book cuz I heard on a drive to work that the book was made into an opera. I missed the Fall 2008 show time, hopefully I will get to see it when it came back.

The 2nd book I am reading is “Elizabeth I CEO” by Alan Axelrod. Subtitled “Strategic Lessons from the Leader who built an Empire.” I bought the book couple years ago when the movie Elizabeth: The Golden Age came out last year. I watched the DVD earlier this year, w/ the history/story line still clear in my mind, and the difficulty of being a leader in a weak economy; I thought it’s a good time to read the book. Queen Elizabeth inherited England in its weak and trouble era, but finished her reign of 45 years, England was the richest and most powerful nation in Europe and well on its way to becoming the greatest empire the world would ever known.

I just started the book this weekend, but found the author’s outline of 10 key leadership lessons interesting and not far from some of my experience at work:

1. A leader’s first lesson: Survival
2. Creating a leadership image
3. Combining the common touch with the air of leadership
4. Creating common cause without tyranny
5. Building a loyal staff – and a loyal opposition
6. Growing the enterprise and crushing the competition
7. Turning crisis into triumph
8. Holding on to the power
9. Doing business without excuses
10. Winning – and what it means

From the same Amazon shipment, I got Billy Blank’s TAEBO DVD. I am now into day 2 of “Get Celebrity Fit Cardio” workout. Somehow, after watching Britney’s Womanizer Music Video I have this illusion of if Britney can get back in shape, maybe I can get rid of 10 or 20 lbs. I have lots of fat to trim.

This is a teaser photo for our very own low-key Minling in her beautiful gown. Congratulations Minling & Tak, we are working hard on your wedding photos!

