Hy and I went to the super cool Viva La Vida concert this Friday at HP Pavilion at San Jose. Hy and I enjoyed many songs from Coldplay, so we were super excited about Coldplay’s 2008 tour. And seriously, the concert was worth every penny if you love their song! The songs were, of course, great. Stage was creatively designed. Toward the end of the concert, the band even got off stage and stationed in the audience for two songs.

While we were in the show, Hy got a text message on the phone! Amazingly, it was from our 2006 HyStudio couple Lynnette and Lovekesh! Lynnete and Lovekesh were HyStudio website’s cover couple for couple months in 2007! It was great to hear from them! They saw us while we were looking for our seat earlier in the concert. And they just wanted to message us to say they were there too! We exchanged couple message through out the concert. It was super fun to still keep in touch like this with our old clients.

Here is the shout out to our old friends from 2006~ Lynnette and Lovekesh had their wedding banquets in Hotel Sofitel of Redwood City. Following is one of my favorite photo from their wedding!

This photo of Lynnette is framed on HyStudio’s studio wall πŸ™‚

Lynnete and Lovekesh also had a traditional India ceremony the night before their wedding!

Recently, due to some uncertainty at my work place (yeah.. my day time job, not hystudio), I spent a lot of time contemplating over leadership during uncertainty era. Though things are uncertain, I was fortunate enough to be in a group that’s still expending. However, team building during an uncertainty era isn’t easy.

I’ve been enjoying a lot of summer reading on my spare time. The other day, the following excerpt really draw my attention. It was from Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture. Professor Randy Pausch is a computer science professor in Carnegie Mellon University, the context was about how Randy selects people to his research team at CMU:
“I know you’re smart. But everyone here is smart. Smart isn’t enough. The kind of people I want on my research team are those who will help everyone else feel happy to be here”

So true πŸ™‚ The team that works is not only the team that are full w/ smart people. But a team that works will be the team where every member enjoy each other’s company! This wisdom comes extremely helpful to me as I have so many positions that I need to fill. It’s a good reminder not only to hire smart people, but hire smart people who are also humble and sincere and who’s willing to help everyone else feel happy to be in the team!

