While Annie is out there surviving the urban, I’ll show you how to surviving the wilderness. I took a short break during the long weekend and headed to Yosemite for a winter camping trip. This is the best time to camp in Yosemite right now since I don’t have to fight for space. Most would prefer to stay toasty and warm at home. There are, however, quite a number of kids were out there camping as well.

What I had with me were not the top of the class gears for surviving the snow and ice but probably much better than what Bear Grylls had. Needless to say, we all have to plan within our comfortable zone and plan for the worst and hope for the best. But the most important of all, you have to be man enough to say no and bail out when the condition turn south. I myself had aborted a few summits. (No, it is not Everest.)

 

Here it is, my tent on a wide open space

yosemite_wintercamping_01.jpg

 

Another view

yosemite_wintercamping_04.jpg

 

Hot tea for the spirit

yosemite_wintercamping_02.jpg

 

7PM pitch black, I took advantage of a car headlight lit up the trees, moonlight was hitting the ground, and the tent was lit by a flash light.

yosemite_wintercamping_031.jpg

 

8PM

yosemite_wintercamping_05.jpg
