This Sunday late afternoon, I tagged along with Hy for a day-after session in the city. One of the location was at the beach. The sun was at a perfect position. The beach was a bit windy as usual. There were 3 brides at the beach while we were there. I was watching Hy and the other 2 photographers from afar. It was tough work. I can see the photographers going up and down the rock; constantly moving to find the best angel to produce that perfect photos for their clients.

I can’t speak for other 2 photographers. But I certainly see it from Hy, this labor of love. Augie and Danny, two photographers I highly respect, was over at our place this past Wed. evening. It was real fun to be in connection with other photographers. While enjoy after dinner watermelon at our kitchen, Augie asked me (Annie) “So, you don’t shoot (professionally), why you sound so excited when talking about photography?” I lost my words at that moment, because I too, don’t know how to explain it. I know we have a bigger readership on this blog now, so I should clarify a bit. HyStudio photographers are Hy & Frank. I am not a professional photographer myself. But some how, maybe similar to many of our faithful blog readers, I just really enjoy looking at photographs.

So, Augie’s question lingers within me for a week. Sunday late evening, while waiting for Hy at the day-after session, I was finishing up the last chapter of a book named “Blink” by Malcolm Gladwell in the car. And I think I found my answer from the famous Sigmund Freud, aka. “the father of psychoanalysis”. Gladwell quoted Freud in his book “Blink”:

“When making a decision of minor importance, I have always found it advantageous to consider all the pros and cons. In vital matters, however, such as the choice of a mate or a profession, the decision should come from the unconscious, from somewhere within ourselves. In the important decisions of personal life, we sould be governed, I think, by the deep inner needs of our nature”

Simply put, answers to Augie’s question: it’s just something within me, while working with Hy & Frank on wedding photos, I found a deep well of joy within me. When I see creativity and artistry in their photos, the happiness & joys overflows. Our passion & love drive us to do more.

I have a lot more to share about this past Sat.’s wedding and Sun.’s day-after session, but I promised the bride that I will hold her photos until she’s back from the honeymoon 🙂

For now, I do have a long delayed wedding teaser to share. Hy went with a more journalistic approach for this teaser. We will have more photos to share on Linh & Kevin wedding soon. In the mean time, also check out Linh & Kevin’s engagement photos if you haven’t seen them. Enjoy ~

Makeup & hair: Maria Chang of Professional Makeup Artistry
Floral Design: Nicole Ha Designs

20070716_01.jpg

20070716_02.jpg

20070716_03.jpg

20070716_04.jpg

Congratulations Linh & Kevin!

